Tags

, ,

I think this is the first time I’m tunneling through withdrawal symptoms. The finale to Healer is grinding my heart, and for once, I honestly, very profoundly wish that the drama hasn’t ended. Even if it means dominating half my life for another week and filling another chock full of Healer searches in my Internet history, I would petition KBS for more – I’m sure there’s still loads to do in an epilogue, what with giving side characters more closure like a true farewell party. Oh but, I couldn’t complain. It took only about 20 minutes after the episode ended for my delight to calm and my rationale to find home again.

Healer is so unexplainably amazing. Literally. Is there any one aspect of the drama that excels? Not particularly. There’s supreme-royal eyecandy in most scenes, but that’s a personal opinion. Perhaps the gripping part of this drama that gives it such a strangely unique addiction is its emotional take on the audience. Healer-fans root for all the adorable characters, kind of like rooting for your favorite sports team – you’re just in it for it. No reason.

I love Healer for its focus on an actual plot that doesn’t explicitly center around romance but still manages to intertwine conflicts and resolutions in each episode around both. And I like both. Isn’t it perfection when you find angst and satisfaction in something other than just plain kissing? Of course, a solely romance drama has an equal chance for the spotlight, if executed well (You From Another Star, for instance?), but I somehow found a different air of appeal in what Healer brought out. Frankly, like I said before, I don’t know how else to put this… it’s riveting. Unexplainably riveting.

Oh, and it’s re-watch Healer time.